13.6. Configuring user authentication

You can control which users have access to sFlowTrend-Pro by using the user authentication feature of sFlowTrend-Pro. User authentication is configured via the ToolsManage users menu item, which launches the Manage users dialog. This dialog contains a table which lists all the configured users and allows you to add users, change the password and role for a user, and delete users.

By default, there are no users configured in sFlowTrend-Pro and user authentication is disabled. This means that any user can use sFlowTrend-Pro and will have all the permissions associated with the Administrator role. If you are connecting to a remote server with user authentication disabled, the User name and Password fields in the Connection dialog (see Section 12.3, “Connecting to a server”) can be left blank and will be ignored.

Once you have added at least one user, user authentication is enabled and any user wishing to run sFlowTrend-Pro as an application or connect to the server, must login with a configured user login name and password.

13.6.1. Adding a user

Clicking on the Add user button, launches a dialog that allows you to enter the details for a new user:

User
The full name for the user.
Login
The user login name for the user.
Password
The password for the user. You must enter the same password in the Confirm password field.
Role

The role that the user should be assigned. sFlowTrend-Pro includes three roles:

Guest
Users with this role can access the traffic data.
User
Users with this role can access the traffic data and change their own password.
Administrator
Users with this role can access all the traffic data, configure switches in sFlowTrend-Pro (see Section 13.2, “Configuring agents in sFlowTrend-Pro ), manage users, playback saved sFlow data (see FileStart playback ), and change sFlow related settings (see Section 13.5.6, “Advanced sFlow ).

[Note] Note

If you decide to enable user authentication, then you must always configure at least one user who is an Administrator. This means that the first user that you add, must be an Administrator. In addition if you use the edit button to edit a user, or the delete button to delete a user, the user interface will enforce maintaining at least one Administrator. This means that you will be prevented from deleting the last user.

After having configured user authentication, if you decide to allow uncontrolled user access, you can do so by deleting the file users.json in the sFlowTrend-Pro server home directory (or the sFlowTrend-Pro home directory ).